Rural Transportation Planning

Rural Transportation Planning


Lowcountry Council of Governments (LCOG) is committed to supporting an efficient, multi-modal transportation system which will increase the mobility of people and goods within the Lowcountry Region focusing on rural transportation issues.

The COG assists the South Carolina Department of Transportation (SCDOT) in the long-range planning of regional transportation improvements including highway infrastructure, public transit, planning studies, and other needs as appropriate. The COG works with jurisdictions in the region to prioritize local needs and make recommendations to the SCDOT for funding of highway and transit projects.

LCOG also has an excellent relationship with the Metropolitan Planning Organization, Lowcountry Area Transportation Study (LATS).  They have a history or working together on regional projects such as co-funding the widening of US 17.

LCOG is responsible for creating the rural transportation plans including the RPWP, LRTP and RTIP.

Rural Planning Work Program (RPWP)

The Rural Planning Work Program (RPWP) describes the transportation planning activities undertaken by our office at the request of and with the guidance of SCDOT.

Rural Long Range Transportation Plan (LRTP)

The Long Range Transportation Plan (LRTP) is a comprehensive transportation planning document for the four county Lowcountry Region. The LRTP defines the overarching goals for transportation in our region, establishes existing and future transportation needs of the region and allocates projected revenue to transportation programs and projects that address those needs.

Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)

The Lowcountry RTIP outlines the planning objectives, priority status and funding source for all projects scheduled for construction over a seven-year period. The TIP is submitted to SCDOT for approval and inclusion in the Statewide Transportation Improvement Program (STIP). The STIP contains an accounting of federal highway funds approved by the SCDOT Commission for roadway improvements as well as certain public transit allocations.