About Us


The Lowcountry Council of Governments (LCOG) is 1 of 10 South Carolina councils designed to serve as a connection between the local governments and the State and Federal programs. We work with the local governments to identify and coordinate regional development, strengthen services, and cooperate for the mutual benefit to best serve our citizens. We are a resource to four counties and twenty-five cities and towns within Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton, and Jasper Counties.

LCOG is a public agency guided by a thirty-member board of directors appointed by the participating local governments. Our activities are organized into four program areas:
  1. Aging and Disability Resources 
  2. Community and Economic Development
  3. Planning and Transportation
  4. Workforce Development
Our staff members provide assistance to senior citizens and persons with disabilities; community and economic development with a focus on infrastructure improvements and affordable housing programs, grant writing and administration, and creating jobs; planning for future land use in communities and regional transportation; and workforce development assistance for employers and job seekers.

Banner Photo:  HHI Lighthouse by Stephanie Rossi.